A purchase limit on a card vending machine decides how many packs or boxes one buyer can take. The cap itself is a single setting. The hard part is recognising the same buyer when they come back, and that depends on the identifier the machine checks: a membership QR code, an account, an RFID card, an access code or, if the processor allows it, the payment card. This page explains how each option works, why the official Pokémon TCG machines added limits, and how to set a rule buyers will accept as fair.
KioskForce is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by The Pokémon Company, Nintendo or Creatures. Pokémon is a trademark of its owners. We build trading card vending machines to order for other operators. We do not run, stock or configure The Pokémon Company International’s machines.
Quick answer
- Two layers, used together. A per-transaction cap limits one purchase. A per-person limit over a period limits one buyer, and needs something that identifies them.
- The identifier decides the strength. Membership QR codes, accounts, RFID cards and access codes are controlled by the machine’s software. Card-based limits depend on what the payment processor exposes.
- The count must live in the system, not the screen session, so a restart or power cut does not reset it.
- Release pacing holds back part of the stock and offers it later. It is why a machine can show sold out with packs visible.
- The official machines’ rule is not published. Canopy reported purchase limits and periodic release added to the US Pokémon machines in March 2025.
Do Pokémon vending machines have a purchase limit?
The official machines are owned and run by The Pokémon Company International (TPCi). Its Pokémon Automated Retail Vending Machine FAQ on Pokémon Center Support covers ownership, restocks, cameras and returns, but it does not state a purchase limit or explain how one is applied.
The limit is known from reporting. In June 2025, the device-management firm Canopy wrote that more than 1,400 TPCi machines were operating across 25 US states, and quoted a community member saying machines were “sold out in minutes”. In March 2025 TPCi took machines offline for several days for a software update. The update added purchase limits and periodic inventory release, plus an on-screen warning that loitering is not permitted. Canopy also noted that, after the update, a machine may show certain items as sold out even when it has stock. That stops one person making back-to-back purchases.
Dexerto reported similar measures in March 2025 alongside Pokémon Center Singapore’s anti-scalping changes. It said the new limits meant scalpers could no longer clear out a whole machine in one go, and that each machine would release a set amount of product at intervals.
Neither source gives a number, and we do not repeat unverified numbers from social media. If you want the rule for a particular official machine, the screen is the authority. For any third-party machine, the operator sets the rule.
Why card machines need limits at all
A booster pack in a vending machine sells at a fixed price. When a product is scarce, its resale price can rise well above that. Anyone who can buy the whole machine and resell it captures the gap. Without a limit, the first person to reach a freshly stocked machine can do exactly that, and everyone after them finds it empty.
For an operator, that is a problem even though the stock sold. The collectors who would have come back every week stop coming. The host venue sees queues, arguments and people waiting by the machine. And the operator’s own reputation suffers when its machines are known to be emptied by resellers. A limit is a way of choosing who the machine serves.
The two layers: per transaction and per person
| Layer | What it limits | What it stops | What it does not stop |
|---|---|---|---|
| Per-transaction cap | Units of one selection, or of all selections, in a single purchase | One purchase emptying a selection | The same person buying again straight away |
| Per-person limit over a period | Units one identified buyer can take per day, week or release | Repeat purchases by the same identified buyer | A buyer who presents a different identifier |
| Release pacing (optional) | How much stock is offered at a time | One visit taking all the stock, whoever the buyer is | Determined buyers who return at each release |
A per-transaction cap is a setting in the machine software and costs nothing extra. It is worth having on every card machine, but on its own it is a speed bump.
A per-person limit is the real control. It needs the machine to recognise a returning buyer, which is a question of identifiers. It also needs a period: per day, per week, or per release of a particular product.
Release pacing is a separate tool. It does not care who the buyer is. It simply decides how much stock is available at a time. On a KioskForce build it is scoped as software customisation for the project, so state the rule you want at enquiry.
On a lift build, the machine already sells one selection per purchase so the drop sensor can confirm each item. That is useful on a card machine, but it is not a limit. The buyer can still start another purchase.
What can identify a returning buyer?
| Identifier | How the buyer presents it | Strength against repeat buying | Friction for a casual buyer | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Membership QR code | Scans a code from an app or store membership at the machine | High, if one membership per person is enforced at sign-up | Needs a membership first | Doubles as a marketing channel; our lucky-dip build used this pattern |
| App or web account | Logs in, or scans a code tied to the account | Medium to high, depending on sign-up checks | Needs an account | Sign-up tied to a verified phone number or email is harder to multiply |
| RFID card | Taps a store or club card on a reader | High in a closed membership, such as a game store’s players | Only members can buy | Suits stores that already issue member cards |
| Access code | Enters a reusable code issued after sign-up | Medium | Low once issued | Our monthly-quota build issued codes after sign-up by email or mobile number |
| Payment card | Pays by tap; the limit is counted against the card | Medium; buyers can use several cards | None | Depends on what the terminal and processor pass to the machine |
| None (per-transaction cap only) | Nothing | Low | None | Pair with release pacing if stock is scarce |
The trade-off runs down the table. The identifiers that are hardest to multiply ask the buyer to do something first. The one with no friction, the payment card, is the one the machine controls least.
For a game store, an RFID or QR membership is usually the natural choice. The store already knows its players, and a limit tied to membership rewards regulars. For a machine in a mall or transit area, where most buyers are passing trade, a card-based limit plus a per-transaction cap and release pacing is often the practical mix.
Card-based limits: what the machine actually sees
Buyers often assume a vending machine can simply count purchases per card. It can only count what the payment system gives it.
On a KioskForce machine, contactless payment is taken by an MDB cashless terminal such as Vending on Track VendCoin, Nayax or Cantaloupe. The terminal holds the relationship with the processor and approves the card. What the machine needs from the terminal to complete a sale is the approval and the amount. The machine then writes its own order record with the product, quantity, time and a receipt ID, as set out on payments.
A card-based limit needs one more thing: a stable reference for the card that comes back the same on the next purchase. Whether the terminal passes one, and whether it stays the same when the buyer pays with the same card through a phone wallet instead of the plastic card, is decided by the terminal and the processor. Phone wallets generally present a substitute number rather than the card number itself, so the same account can look like two different cards to a simple counter.
That is why we treat card-based limits as a question for quotation, not a feature to promise in general. Send the make and model of the terminal you plan to use, and the processor behind it. We confirm what reference is available and build the count around it. If the answer is “none”, the limit needs a different identifier.
Where the count is stored
A limit that lives in the screen session is easy to defeat. Walk away, let the session time out, or wait for a restart, and the count is gone.
On a KioskForce machine, the count is held and checked by the system against the buyer’s identifier, not by the screen. It survives a power cycle. Because every machine reports to the same cloud dashboard, a per-person rule spanning several machines can be scoped with the build, so a buyer who reaches the limit at one store does not start again at the next. State it at enquiry if that is the rule you want.
Two operating points follow from this:
- Connectivity matters. A per-person check happens when the buyer presents their identifier. As our payments page explains, account-based checks need the machine’s link, and any local fallback is scoped with the integration rather than assumed. Give a limit-enforcing machine the most reliable connection the site has.
- The record is useful afterwards. Each sale is recorded with the product, quantity, time and a receipt ID, so when a buyer disputes how many they have bought, the operator can check the history rather than argue.
What makes a purchase limit fair?
The machine enforces the rule. It does not decide what the rule should be. Some principles help.
- Publish it before payment. Show the limit on the machine and on screen before the buyer pays. A refusal after payment is a refund, a complaint and a lost customer.
- Apply it the same way to everyone. Exceptions made at the machine undo the point of having one.
- Match the limit to scarcity. A tight limit on a new release makes sense. The same limit on product in steady supply just slows sales.
- Say how pacing works, if you use it. Buyers accept “more stock is released through the day” better than an unexplained sold-out screen.
- Review it with data. Sales per selection and how quickly each selection sells out show whether the limit is too tight or too loose.
The scenarios below are illustrative rule sets, not recommendations or market data. They show how the layers combine.
| Situation | Per-transaction cap | Per-person limit | Release pacing | Identifier |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New release, high demand, game store | 1 per selection | Low per release | Optional | Store membership (RFID or QR) |
| New release, mall position | 1 per selection | Low per day | Yes | Payment card, if the processor supports it |
| Steady-supply booster packs | A few per purchase | None or generous | No | None needed |
| Event or tournament product | 1 per selection | 1 per event | Yes, by session | Event registration QR |
How limits get gamed, and what helps
| Workaround | Which limit it beats | What helps |
|---|---|---|
| Buying again straight away | Per-transaction cap | Per-person limit or release pacing |
| Several payment cards | Card-based limit | A membership or account identifier; release pacing |
| Several accounts | Account-based limit | Sign-up tied to a verified phone number or an existing membership |
| Friends or paid helpers buying in turn | Every per-person limit | Release pacing; a staffed or visible position |
| Waiting at the machine for a restock | Every limit | Release pacing at varied times; no published visit schedule |
| Restarting the machine | Session-only limits | Counts stored by the system |
No combination stops everything. The aim is to make bulk buying slow and visible enough that most buyers get a fair chance. The broader security picture, including theft, pack searching and cabinet hardening, is on trading card vending machine security.
What KioskForce has built before
We have shipped per-person entitlements on vending machines, though not for trading cards:
- Lucky box member redeem. A QR membership reader added to a vending machine. Each activated member is entitled to three lucky dips per 24 hours. See lucky box member redeem.
- Free vends with a monthly quota. Members of the public sign up with an email address or mobile number and receive a reusable access code with a monthly quota. See free vends with a monthly quota.
Both carry straight over to a card machine. The identifier changes. The counting logic does not.
What to specify if you are buying one
Purchase limits are the control buyers most often leave until last. Settle them with the rest of the trading card vending machine specification:
- The rule. Per-transaction cap, per-person limit, period, and whether it applies per machine or across all your machines.
- The identifier. Membership QR, account, RFID card, access code or payment card, and how buyers will get one.
- Your payment terminal, make and model, and the processor behind it, if you want a card-based limit. Compatibility is confirmed at quotation; see payments.
- Release pacing, if you want it: how much stock, released when.
- What the screen should say when a buyer reaches the limit.
- The site and its connectivity, because per-person checks need the machine online.
Send these with the product list through the contact page. General price bands are on vending machine cost; trading card builds are quoted per configuration.
Where a purchase limit is the wrong answer
- Product in steady supply. If there is no scarcity, a strict limit just turns buyers away. A per-transaction cap is enough.
- No way to identify buyers, and no appetite to add one. A per-person limit without an identifier is a per-transaction cap with extra steps. Use release pacing instead.
- A position nobody supervises. Limits work on purchases. They do nothing about loitering, intimidation or theft.
- A rule you cannot explain in one line on the machine. If buyers cannot understand it before they pay, simplify it.
Frequently asked questions
Do Pokémon vending machines have a purchase limit?
Yes, the official ones do, but the rule is not published. Device-management firm Canopy reported that in March 2025 The Pokémon Company International took its US machines offline for several days for a software update that added purchase limits and periodic inventory release, after stock was selling out in minutes. The company’s own vending machine support FAQ does not state a number or explain how the limit is applied. Third-party card machines set their own limits, so the rule differs from one operator to the next.
Why does a card vending machine show sold out when packs are visible inside?
Usually because of release pacing or a limit, not because the machine is empty. On a paced machine only part of the stock is offered at a time, and the rest is held back for a later release, so a selection can show as sold out while product sits behind the glass. Canopy reported exactly this behaviour on the official Pokémon machines after their March 2025 update. On a machine with per-person limits, a selection can also be unavailable to one buyer who has reached the cap while remaining available to others.
Can a vending machine limit purchases per payment card?
Sometimes, and it depends on the payment processor rather than the machine. A card terminal handles the card and passes the machine an approval and an amount. Whether it also passes a stable reference that identifies the same card next time, and whether that reference holds when the same card is used through a phone wallet, is set by the terminal and processor. On a KioskForce build, a card-based limit is confirmed against your specific terminal at quotation. Membership QR codes, accounts, RFID cards and access codes are identifiers the machine controls directly.
Does restarting the machine reset the purchase limit?
It should not, and on a KioskForce machine it does not. A limit that lives only in the screen session is cleared by a restart, a timeout or a power cut, which makes it easy to defeat. The count needs to be stored and checked by the system against the buyer’s identifier, so it carries across sessions and restarts. A rule that spans several machines is scoped with the build. Ask any supplier directly whether the limit survives a power cycle.
What is a fair purchase limit for a trading card machine?
There is no single fair number. It depends on how scarce the product is and who the machine is for. A common pattern is a tight per-person limit on a new or short-supply release and a looser limit, or only a per-transaction cap, on product that is in steady supply. Whatever rule you choose, put it on the machine and on the screen before payment, apply it the same way to everyone, and review it against sales data after the first weeks. The operator sets the rule; the machine enforces it.
Can a purchase limit stop scalpers completely?
No. A limit raises the cost of buying in bulk; it does not end it. A per-transaction cap is defeated by buying again, a card-based limit by using several cards, and an account-based limit by opening several accounts unless sign-up is tied to something harder to duplicate, such as a verified phone number or an existing store membership. Release pacing spreads stock over time so a single visit cannot take everything. Combining two of these, plus a staffed or visible position, works better than any one alone.
Has KioskForce built per-person limits on vending machines before?
Yes. One build added a QR membership reader to a vending machine so that each activated member could redeem three lucky dips per 24 hours. Another gave members of the public a reusable access code, issued after sign-up by email or mobile number, with a monthly quota per person. Both patterns carry over to a trading card machine: the identifier changes, the counting logic does not. Release pacing on a card machine is scoped as software customisation for the build.
References
- The Pokémon Company International — “Pokémon Automated Retail Vending Machine FAQ”, Pokémon Center Support (accessed 2 October 2026). https://support.pokemoncenter.com/hc/en-us/articles/6797616382868-Pok%C3%A9mon-Automated-Retail-Vending-Machine-FAQ
- Canopy — “Pokémon Fans vs. Scalpers: Making Smart Vending Machines Even Smarter” (3 June 2025). https://www.gocanopy.com/news-insights/pokemon-vending-machine-management
- Dexerto — “The Pokemon Company takes big step in fighting against scalpers with TCG changes” (18 March 2025). https://www.dexerto.com/pokemon/the-pokemon-company-takes-big-step-in-fighting-against-scalpers-with-tcg-changes-3164379/
Related
- Trading card vending machines: the cluster hub
- Trading card vending machine security
- How do Pokémon card vending machines work?
- When do Pokémon vending machines restock?
- Do trading card vending machines make money?
- Wall-mounted and mini trading card vending machines
- Payments: terminal compatibility and item-level card sales data
Talk to us about purchase limits on a card machine
Send the rule you want, how buyers will identify themselves, your payment terminal and the products. We will tell you which identifier works with your setup and quote the build.
Project brief · 60 seconds
What are we building together?
Three quick steps. Your brief goes straight to the engineers who design, build and support KioskForce systems.